Two thoughts on the afternoon of Game 5:
1. I neglected to mention in today's column that not only did Tuomo Ruutu lay out Colin White with 90 seconds (and change) to go in Game 4, but he plastered White only a few feet away in the corner on his second shift with the Hurricanes, not long before Patrik Elias carved Ruutu a new nose.
For a trip down memory lane, click here.
And I would be negligent if I didn't mention that Ruutu won the "Good Guy Award" for media cooperation from the Carolina chapter of the PHWA this season.
"I still believe if I get position, regardless if it's blue ice or white ice or whatever they call it, they shouldn't be able to touch me," Brodeur said. "Looking at it, I don't think you could call a penalty, but there is a rule about incidental contact outside your crease. There's a whistle and the play is stopped dead."
On this point, Brodeur is wrong. The contact with Jokinen was incidental, which is allowed under the rules. In fact, looking at the replays, you could make the case that Brodeur initiated it looking to draw a penalty.
The referees were right to ignore the contact and allow the goal, but Brodeur had every right to be angry, too, for a different reason. How was Jokinen, with just seconds remaining before this game went into overtime, left so alone in front of the net in the first place?
The same scenario unfolded three years ago against the same team. Eric Staal, untouched in front, scored with three seconds left in Game 2 to send the game into overtime. The Hurricanes won the game, the first-round series, and eventually, the Stanley Cup.