Choose a blog

Mark Savage named 2013 Wake County Principal of the Year

Mark Savage was named the 2013 Wake County Principal of the year on Thursday and Teresa Caswell was named Assistant Principal of the Year.

Savage has been principal of Heritage High School in Wake Forest since it opened in 2010. He has worked in Wake since 1997, starting as an English teacher at Leeesville Road High School before becoming assistant principal and later principal of Wakefield Middle School and principal of Wakefield High School.

Looking at the themes for Wake County's new and revamped magnet schools

Wake County's three new magnet schools and two revamped magnet schools will look to make a splash with parents for the 2013-14 school year.

As noted in today's article, staff unveiled at Thursday's meeting of the school board's student achievement committee the magnet programs that will be offered at the five schools covered by the federal MSAP grant.

Click here for a handout on the themes at the schools and where they'd fit in the magnet program pathways.

Looking at the future of the Montessori program in the Wake County school system

What role should Montessori education continue to play in the Wake County school system?

As noted in today's article, school administrators say they still think that Wake should offer Montessori even though Poe Elementary School hasn't been able to attract enough magnet students.

But with Lynn Road Elementary School's PTA balking at receiving Montessori, Wake is back to determining who should become the new Montessori school. Options include finding an existing school which would support Montessori more or just opening a new school to offer that theme.

Wake County school system announces 2012-13 Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year finalists

The Wake County school system has announced the finalists for the 2012-13 Principal of the Year and Assistant Principal of the Year awards.

The finalists for Principal of the Year are Kevin Biles of Pleasant Union Elementary in Raleigh, Kenneth Branch of Brentwood Elementary in Raleigh, Paula Trantham of Millbrook Elementary in Raleigh,  Brian Pittman of Holly Ridge Middle in Holly Springs and Ericka Lucas of East Wake School of Arts, Education and Global Studies in Wendell.

The finalists for Assistant Principal of the Year are Teresa Caswell of Lead Mine Elementary in Raleigh, Ruth Ann Freeman of Bugg Elementary in Raleigh, Travis Shillings of Brassfield Elementary in Raleigh, Wynette Martin of East Cary Middle and Matthew Rice of Enloe High in Raleigh.

The finalists were nominated by their peers. The winners will be announced at a celebration on Oct. 11 at 6 p.m. at Marbles Kids Museum in Raleigh.

1345647635 Wake County school system announces 2012-13 Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year finalists The News and Observer Copyright 2011 The News and Observer . All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Assessing whether Wake County's magnet schools are aligned to the program's principles

Which Wake County magnet schools, if any, should be worrying about losing their magnet status?

During Tuesday's school board work session, Deputy Superintendent Cathy Moore said the determination on demagnetization is a longer more drawn out process that they weren't going to discuss yet. She wanted the board to focus on the adoption of the magnet principles and which schools to include in the magnet grant.

But this color-coded chart showing how the existing magnets fare under the magnet principles could give an indication of which schools might be at higher risk. Green indicates strongly aligned with the magnet principles, yellow is moderately aligned and red and white both mean not aligned.

Wake County school board debates which schools should receive magnet programs

Student assignment and diversity seems to find its way into just about every topic that's discussed by the Wake County school board.

As noted in today's article, the discussion about which schools should get magnet programs spun into a discussion about diversity as a factor in the student assignment plan. At issue is what to do to reduce racial and minority isolation at schools, which is the main purpose of the new federal grant Wake will seek.

The goal of federal Magnet School Assistance Program grants is to "assist in the desegregation of public schools by supporting the elimination, reduction, and prevention of minority group isolation in elementary and secondary schools with substantial numbers of minority group students.

Wake County pointing to gains at Title I and Renaissance Schools

Wake County school leaders are touting the academic gains this past year at several schools with high levels of low-income students

New results released today show that all four Renaissance Schools saw gains in their passing rates and made at least expected growth. The most dramatic gain was at Barwell Road Elementary, where the passing rate rose 9.7 percentage points to 74.1 percent. 

Wake used $9.5 million out of its $10.2 million in federal Race to the Top funding to create the Renaissance model.

New principal named to Fox Road Elementary School

The Wake County school board appointed one principal and three interims principals on Tuesday.

Robert Lewis was hired to be principal of Fox Road Elementary School in North Raleigh with a salary of $106,992. The former longtime Millbrook Elementary School principal has been principal of Ordway Elementary School in Bainbridge Island, Wash., since 2006.

Until Lewis starts, the board reappointed Teresa Abron to stay on as Fox Road's interim principal through the end of June.


Click here for the bio sheets.

Wake County magnet schools win national awards

Wake County school officials announced today that 14 magnet schools have received national awards.

Combs, Douglas, Joyner, Washington and Wiley elementary schools and Southeast Raleigh High School received the School of Excellence Award from Magnet Schools of America, a trade organization. Those six schools are now in the running to win the Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, which goes to the top magnet school in the nation.

In addition, Conn, Farmington Woods, Hunter, Millbrook and Underwood elementary schools; Carnage and Ligon middle schools and Millbrook High School received the School of Distinction award.

"We're proud of all of the schools that Magnet Schools of America recognized this year," said Wake Superintendent Tony Tata in a statement. "Our magnet schools are a thriving, dynamic part of our school system, and their success is due to the hard work of students, teachers, and our supportive community."

Principals named to Enloe High School and other Wake County schools

Wake County school leaders announced tonight the appointments and transfers of seven permanent and seven interim principals.

Scott Lyons was named principal of Enloe High in Raleigh with a salary of $99,666. He's been principal of Leesville Road High since 2009. He used to be an assistant principal at Enloe.

Christopher McCabe will be principal of Heritage Middle in Wake Forest with a salary of $93,303. He's been principal of North Forest Pines Drive Elementary since 2007.


Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.