Choose a blog

Holland reflects on Sampson vs. the Triangle

Friday night, Ralph Sampson will take his place among the game's greatest basketball players when he is formally inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame.

Sampson, who grew up in Harrisonburg, Va., picked Virginia over UNC (among others). He dominated college basketball like few others and had plenty of success against Triangle teams.

We caught up with Terry Holland, Sampson's coach and now ECU's AD, to talk about Ralph's rivalry against UNC, Duke and N.C. State.

Sanderson announces 2012 Hall of Fame members

Sanderson High School and the Sanderson Athletic Club will induct the second class of the Sanderson Athletics Hall of Fame in festivities to be held in September 2012.  The class includes nine individual athletes, one family, a set of three brothers, and one team.

Buffaloe Lanes’ Strickland gains Hall of Fame spot

Buffaloe Lanes North fixture Nancy Strickland is the Capital Area U.S. Bowling Congress Association Hall of Fame’s 37th inductee.

Strickland, 61, of Raleigh, has been a bowler for 41 years at various area facilities, and she has served the area bowling community by being active in organizations such as the Capital Area USBC Association, the Raleigh Women’s Bowling Association and the N.C. Women’s Bowling Association.

Larry Lindsey inducted into North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame

Larry Lindsey, one of the North Carolina’s most successful high school basketball coaches, has been inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame today as part of its 2011 class. Lindsey is one of seven members that will be inducted on May 12 at main ballroom of the North Raleigh Hilton Hotel.

Lindsey captured eight NCHSAA state championships in three different classifications, including two at Youngsville High (1969 and '70) and six at Wake Forest-Rolesville (1971, '72, '73, '77, '78, and '79). In 28 seasons he had a winning percentage of almost .800. He is a member of the NCHSAA Hall of Fame

Lindsey is also a member of the Pembroke University Sports Hall of Fame as a basketball player.

Garner selects inaugural Hall of Fame members

Garner High has named the inaugural five members of its Hall of Fame. 

The group will be introduced at the Trojans game against Harnett Central on Nov. 5 and will be inducted next spring.

The group includes:

Anthony Barbour, a football running back who led Garner to the 1987 state 4-A title and started at N.C. State. Barbour has been the head football coach at Southern Durham, Middle Creek and Smithfield-Selma and is currently an assistant coach at Clayton High.

Barbara Kelly, a girls basketball player and later a coach and athletics administrator at the University of Virginia who was instrumental in starting the Atlantic Coast Conference women’s basketball tournament.

Hal Stewart, who built a football dynasty at Garner including the state title in 1987. Stewart is among the few coaches who has won state 4-A championships at two different schools, having led Richmond County to a state title before going to Garner.

Patrick Watkins, a baseball player who played in the Major Leagues for the Cincinatti Reds and Colorado Rockies. He was a collegiate star at East Carolina where he led the NCAA in home runs.

Donald Williams, a boys basketball player who was the MVP of the Final Four when University of North Carolina won the national title in 1993.

Catapano, Brooks picked for NCHSAA Hall

Harvey Brooks of Trenton and Princeton, Tunney Brooks of Lumberton, Tom Brown of Maiden, Bob Catapano of Raleigh, the late Joe Hunt of Hendersonville, Carolyn Rogers of Hertford, and Que Tucker of Chapel Hill have been named to the N.C. High School Athletic Association Hall of Fame.

Garner plans Hall of Fame

Garner High will start an athletics hall of fame.

Shannonhouse revives memories

Shannonhouse led Imps to the NCHSAA 4-A women's basketball finals.

Chapel Hill High/ Lincoln High Hall of Fame on Saturday

The Chapel Hill High/ Lincoln High Hall of Fame will induct seven people during its annual banquet on Saturday.

Northern Durham Hall of Fame

Northern will honor Jim Armstrong, Carla McLaughlin Boynton, Sid Ray, Bernice Rigsbee, Mike Salzano, and Zack Veasey.

Cars View All
Find a Car
Jobs View All
Find a Job
Homes View All
Find a Home

Want to post a comment?

In order to join the conversation, you must be a member of Click here to register or to log in.